Fresh Off the Boat

While I have expounded on the importance of fresh roasted coffee, I haven’t spent a lot of time talking about the importance of getting freshly harvested coffees. It’s true that in its raw form, coffee is far more shelf stable than once it is roasted, but even the green beans lose flavor over time. Sometimes this is a good thing, mellowing out imperfections or improving the mix of flavors. That is even more evident when you are able to chart the change over time. That is why I am so excited that I have just got my greedy little hands on the newest harvest of one of my favorite coffees, a high-quality bean grown in Zimbabwe. I have been roasting beans from Leopard Forest farm for more than a year now, with much success. The growers, who import the coffee themselves, are devoted to sustainable agriculture and working with the local community. They also make damn good coffee.

Leave a comment